Missouri Valley / Kansas

USTA Kansas

2019 Award Winners

Kendra Wicks  |  October 18, 2019

USTA Kansas is ready to serve up an exciting 2019 District Awards Banquet to honor some of the people that do so much to better the game of tennis in Kansas. The event will take place Sunday, November 10 at the Wichita Country Club.


We want to give a big congratulations to all of our 2019 District Award Winners! These phenomenal players, coaches and organizers will be honored at this year’s event. 


2019 USTA Kansas Award Winners

Winners with an asterisk* beside their name have also been named USTA Missouri Valley Award Winners.


Adult Recreational Player of the Year

Kathy Bagwell, Wichita


Junior High Performance Player of the Year – Female

Jillian Harkin, Manhattan


Junior High Performance Player of the Year – Male

Daniel Harkin, Manhattan


Junior Emerging Players of the Year

Female – Ella Graham

Male – Jaden Tredway



Junior Sportsmanship Awards                                                

Boys 10’s Owen Leonard, Salina*

Boys 12’s Evan Goates, Wichita

Boys 14’s Micah Dahlsten, Hesston

Boys 16’s Trevor Sweat, BelAire

Boys 18’s Chris Arnett, Winfield                                 

Girls 12’s  Bryer Geoffroy, Andover

Girls 14’s Bridget Johnson, Wichita

Girls 16’s Eleana Messenger, Geuda Springs

Girls 18’s Makayla Chabot, El Dorado


Tennis Family of the Year

Joel Phelps Family, Salina


Distinguished Service

Nick Taylor, Wichita*


High School Coach of the Year

Mike Goll, Salina


Outstanding Contributor to Youth Tennis Programs

Sara Rasmussen, Wichita


Outstanding Contributor to Youth High Performance Program

Josh Molino, Salina


USTA Junior Team Tennis Organizer

Janet Glaser, Wichita*

Missouri Valley Section Award Winner


Outstanding Contributor to USTA League Tennis

Ron Wherritt, Wichita


Outstanding Adult/Senior Tournament

80th Annual Jayhawk Adult Open

Topeka Tennis Association

Bob Keeshan, President


Outstanding Junior Tournament

KS BG 12-18 Open District Championship #2

Genesis Rock Road

Simon Norman, TD


Outstanding Community Tennis Association

McAdams NJTL Foundation

Alex Lee, Wichita


Outstanding Official

Jitesh Patel, Topeka


Media Excellence

KSN-TV, Wichita*

Chris Arnold


Outstanding Diversity Achievement

Marty Rothwell*

2019 Fred Johnson All Stars Event

2019 USTA MV Adaptive Event


Event of the Year

Wichita Tennis Open 

Wichita Community Tennis Inc.


Facility of the Year

Wall Park Tennis Complex* 

City of McPherson

Thomas Brown, Mayor


Wall Park Tennis Complex was also honored as a winner in the 38th annual USTA Facility Awards Program in 2019.


Learn more about and register for the Annual Awards banquet. 


Related Articles