Top collegians to compete at 2016 National Indoors

Sally Milano | October 31, 2016

Ohio State junior Mikael Torpegaard and North Carolina senior Hayley Carter, the men's and women's No. 1-ranked players in the 2016-17 Oracle/ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings, will lead a strong field of top collegiate players set to compete at the 2016 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships.


The event, which will take place Nov. 3-6 at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y., , home of the US Open, marks the culmination of the fall collegiate season.


In addition to Torpegaard and Carter, the tournament will also feature Ohio State sophomore and women's defending champion Francesca Di Lorenzo (pictured above), Virginia senior and No. 4-ranked Thai-Son Kwiatkowski, Georgia Tech junior and No. 5 Christopher Eubanks and Stanford junior and No. 6 Tom Fawcett.


Click here for a complete list of players competing in the tournament.


The National Indoors features a 32-player singles draw and a 20-team doubles draw for men and women. Columbia University will serve as the host school for the sixth consecutive year.


As part of the USTA’s increased efforts to support college tennis as a professional development pathway, American players will have the opportunity to earn wild-card entries into future USTA Pro Circuit events with their results at the National Indoors.


If an American wins or reaches the men’s or women’s singles final this weekend, he or she will automatically earn a wild card into a future USTA Pro Circuit tournament. American singles champions will also automatically earn a place on the 2017 USTA Collegiate National Team.


The USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships was first held in 1978 for the men and in 1984 for the women. Past champions and finalists include James Blake (Harvard), Bob and Mike Bryan (Stanford), Irina Falconi (Georgia Tech), Nicole Gibbs (Stanford), John Isner (Georgia), Steve Johnson (Southern California), Jamie Loeb (North Carolina), Todd Martin (Northwestern), Lisa Raymond (Florida) and MaliVai Washington (Michigan).


Visit the ITA’s event page for links to live scoring and draws.

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Arizona State University players high-five.
    HACU scholarships awarded
    December 08, 2023
    Four students pursuing degrees in sports management and enrolled in Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU) member institutions were selected to receive the USTA Future Leaders in Sport Scholarship. Read More
  • Maylee Phelps
    Phelps named WC junior OTY
    December 06, 2023
    American Maylee Phelps closed out a breakthrough 2023 season with the ITF's top prize for junior wheelchair tennis players. She's been named the female Wheelchair Tennis Junior of the Year. Read More
  • Kaitlin Quevedo
    2023 Orange Bowl preview
    December 03, 2023
    The world's top juniors will descend on the Frank Veltri Tennis Center in Plantation, Fla. this week hoping to match the achievement of current and former tennis stars including Roger Federer, Coco Gauff and Andy Roddick: winning the famed Orange Bowl. Read More