Berkeley eyes three-peat at TENNIS on Campus Nationals

Ashley Marshall | April 04, 2016

The University of California, Berkeley, will have its sights set on a three-peat when the first ball goes up at the Tennis On Campus National Championship later this month. But the road to another title has never been harder.


The Golden Bears have been the preeminent force in coed club tennis this decade, claiming four of the past six National Championship crowns and establishing a legacy that rivals the Texas A&M University team that won four consecutive titles a decade ago.


But if UC Berkeley wants to become just the second team in the 16-year history of the Tennis On Campus National Championships to lift the trophy three years in succession, it will have to run the gauntlet of contenders and newcomers.

In total, 64 colleges and universities across the country have qualified for the 2016 USTA Tennis On Campus National Championship, which will be played at the Cary Tennis Park in Cary, N.C., April 14-16.


This year, seven schools will make their debut at Nationals in a field that includes the 2016 Club of the Year in the College of William and Mary, the 2015 runner-up in the University of Minnesota, 2013 winners in the Univeristy of Georgia and the 2011 champs in UCLA.


Teams participating in the Tennis On Campus National Championship have advanced through USTA section championship play or received automatic bids from winning at the Fall or Spring Invitationals.


“The USTA Tennis On Campus National Championship is far and away the most exciting and successful recreational college tennis event in the country, “said Glenn Arrington, National Director, USTA Tennis On Campus. “The Championship offers students a unique blend of team competition balanced with a coed fun and a social vibe – setting it apart from varsity programs. Having the opportunity to compete at Nationals is a memorable milestone in any player’s college experience.”


The Tennis On Campus program features more than 35,000 college students competing nationwide in intramural and intercollegiate coed club play. Since its inception in 2000, Tennis On Campus has grown significantly and today is played

on more than 600 college campuses across the country.


Participating teams who have received bids for this year’s USTA Tennis On Campus National Championship include the following schools:


Arizona State University Oregon State University University of Iowa
Auburn University Penn State University University of Maryland
Boston College San Diego State University* University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Brigham Young University Stanford University University of Miami
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo Stephen F. Austin University* University of Michigan
Carleton College Stony Brook University University of Minnesota
College of Williams & Mary Texas A&M University University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Columbia University The Ohio State University University of Northern Colorado
Cornell University The University of Texas, Austin University of Oregon
Dartmouth University University of Alabama University of Pennsylvania
DePaul University University of Arizona University of Pittsburgh
Georgia College* University of California, Berkeley University of South Carolina
Georgia Institute of Technology University of California, Davis University of Southern California
Harvard University University of California, Los Angeles University of Virginia
Illinois Institute of Technology University of California, Santa Barbara University of Wisconsin, Madison
Iowa State University University of Colorado Vanderbilt University
Lamar University University of Delaware Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Marquette University University of Florida Washington University, St. Louis
North Carolina State University University of Georgia West Virginia University*
North Dakota State University University of Houston* Western Washington University
Northeastern University University of Illinois, Chicago* Yale University
Northwestern University    

* Denotes first-time participant



Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Visit the BJKC Orlando kids' clinic page
    BJKC Orlando kids' clinic
    April 10, 2024
    The U.S. Billie Jean King Cup team took time out of their preparations for the upcoming qualifying tie against Belgium to host a tennis clinic for nearly 50 youngsters from a pair of USTA Foundation NJTL chapters. Read More
  • Visit the 2024 CWC preview page
    2024 CWC preview
    April 09, 2024
    The Crimson Tide are winners of the last seven national crowns. But this year, with 10 teams competing at the USTA National Campus, the field might be ready for an upset. Read More
  • Visit the Harold Solomon into OB HOF page
    Harold Solomon into OB HOF
    April 08, 2024
    After a lifetime of involvement in tennis, two-time Orange Bowl boys' 18-and-under singles champion Harold Solomon was inducted into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame at the Miami Open. Read More