Brett Schwartz, Ted Reese nominated to lead USTA Southern

Ron Cioffi | September 20, 2022

United States Tennis Association (USTA) Southern announced today that Brett Schwartz, of Mandeville, La., has been nominated to serve as USTA Southern Board of Directors President & CEO for the 2023-24 term. Ted Reese, of Cary, N.C., was nominated to the post of Executive Vice President.


Schwartz currently serves as USTA Southern Executive Vice President. Previously he served as USTA Southern Vice President for two years and as Secretary. Other volunteer work includes currently serving as the USTA College Pathway Vice Chairfor two terms. At Southern, he also served on the Diversity & Inclusion Task Force and Steering Committee. He headed the Louisiana Board of Directors as the President along with numerous other positions. At the sectional level he also served as a member of the Player Development Committee (2005-2011) and as Vice-Chair of the Professional Relations Committee for two terms and the USTA Southern Junior Competition Committee. 

Skip Advertisement


Brett Schwartz (left) has been nominated for USTA Southern President & CEO. Ted Reese has been nominated as Executive Vice President.

He was a driving force for NJTL Blueprint for Success and expansion of the Build it Forward program. Additionally, after Hurricane Katrina, Schwartz served on the Hurricane Katrina Grant Committee, which obtained and oversaw a $500,000 grant from the USTA to rebuild the public and private facilities in New Orleans. He is the Director of Tennis at StoneCreek Club and Spa, Covington, La. He is married to Lori Kieffer Schwartz.  They have an 18-year-old son, Kieffer Joseph Schwartz, and a 15-year-old daughter, Kyleigh Ann Schwartz.


Reese has served as a Southern Vice President since 2017. He volunteers as the USTA Local Play and Competition Chair, Vice President of the North Carolina Tennis Foundation, and previously as a member of the USTA 10 and Under and Junior Team Tennis committees. He is President of TTS, Inc., a tennis club and management firm, and is the Founder and Co-Tournament Director of the Atlantic Tire Championships ATP professional tournament. 


There were also nominations made to the USTA Southern Nominating Committee. Here is the complete slate:



Brett Schwartz, President, Louisiana

Ted Reese, Executive Vice President, North Carolina

Beth Hopkins, Vice President, North Carolina

Ashley Massengale, Vice President, Georgia

Drew Meyers, Vice President, Louisiana

John Herring, Treasurer, Kentucky

Dave Neuhart, Secretary, Georgia

Carol Alan, Director at Large, South Carolina

Ernie James, Director at Large, South Carolina

Rainey Johns, Director at Large, Kentucky

Randy Jackson, USTA Delegate, Arkansas



Randy Jackson, Chair, Arkansas

Jorge Andrew, Member, South Carolina

Mark Botsch, Member, Georgia

Karen Newman Morgan, Member, Mississippi

Bonnie Vandegrift, Member, North Carolina




Skip Advertisement


Related Articles