Southern retains Keith Donoff Challenge Cup

Drew Meyers | November 14, 2022

USTA Southern captured its seventh straight USTA Men’s Intersectionals title with a dominating performance over seven other USTA sections at Bocage Racquet Club, Baton Rouge, La., Nov. 10-13.


Team Southern downed Florida 18-7 in the final to retain the Keith Donoff Challenge Cup.


Southern began its quest for the cup by defeating USTA Midwest and USTA New England in round robin play. Meanwhile, a very strong USTA Florida team squeaked by a tough USTA Texas team before easily defeating USTA Middle States/Mid-Atlantic. That set up a rematch of the last Donoff Cup final between Southern and Florida which Southern won by a single match in 2021.

Skip Advertisement


USTA Southern's 2022 Keith Donoff Challenge Cup team.

In the 2022 final against Florida, Southern started off strong by winning eight of the 10 doubles matches. Key victories in Men’s 55s and a clutch third-set match tie-break victory by Southern Tennis Hall of Famer Hugh Thomson and Noble Hendrix in Men’s 75s gave Southern an 8-2 lead going into the singles.


Needing only five singles victories over Florida to capture the Donoff Cup, Southern won 10 of the 15 singles matches with Men’s 55s winning two critical third -set match tie-break victories. Southern won 18 of 25 matches to again win the Donoff Cup.


A total of 25 matches (10 doubles and 15 singles) in Men’s 55s, 60s, 65s, 70s, and 75s were played each round. The team winning 13 of the 25 matches is the victor.


Team Southern sincerely appreciates the support of USTA Southern, USTA Louisiana and the Bocage Racquet Club. 



Men's 55

1.      Kevin Gillette (LA)

2.      Jason Noonan (LA)

3.      Neal Stapp (TN)

4.      Nik Makarenko (GA)

5.      Ged Schwing (LA)

Men's 60

1.      Ken Koelling (NC)

2.      Russell Buchi (TN)

3.      Calvert Bibb (AL)

4.      John Valastro (GA)

5.      Steve Brandt (GA)

6.      Drew Meyers (LA) (Captain)


Men's 65

1.      Scott Shepherd (AL)

2.      Jim Hinson (SC)

3.      Dave Oberstein (GA)

4.      Steve Garman (MS)

5.      Chris Bussert (GA)


Men's 70

1.      Danny Carlson (GA)

2.      Padg Bolton (LA)

3.      Gert Van den Heever (GA)

4.      Al Yearwood (TN)

5.      Andy Steingold (NC)

6.      Roger Pearce (GA)


Men's 75

1.      Joe Adams (AL)

2.      William Finger (NC)

3.      Steve Duffel (AR) (Captain)

4.      Noble Hendrix (NC)

5.      Hugh Thomson (GA)

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles