June 16, 2018

San Antonio’s Trey Hilderbrand and Fiona Crawley won the Boys’ and Girls’ 18s titles, respectively, at this year’s Texas Slam in Abilene.


Hilderbrand, who had just returned from the Junior French Championships, won his first-ever Texas Slam by defeating Reed Collier (Seabrook) 6-1, 6-0 on Saturday, June 16. Hilderbrand did not lose a set in his six matches of The Texas Slam as the first-overall seed.

Crawley, also a first-overall seed, defeated Sydney Fitch (San Antonio) 7-5, 6-3 on Friday, June 15 to win her second straight Texas Slam and fourth overall since 2013. The final was a rematch of last year’s Girls’ 16s final, which Crawley won 6-0, 6-2.


Other notable winners in 2018 included Bridget Stammel (Dallas), Erica Jessel (Friendswood) and Chelsie Son (Allen), who all won the singles and doubles titles in their respective divisions. ADVERTISEMENT Stammel won both the Girls’ 16s singles and doubles titles in straight sets, while Jessel won two hard-fought three-set matches in Girls’ 14s. Son won an intense Girls’ 12s doubles final with partner Maria Miroshnichenko (Southlake) and earned the singles crown as the number one seed.


The Texas Slam puts a large emphasis on great sportsmanship, with players being honored with sportsmanship pins, Player of the Day, and ultimately, a tournament-wide Sportsmanship Award. The Clarence Mabry Sportsmanship Award goes to the boy who best embodies sportsmanship throughout the tournament and the Nancy Jeffett Sportsmanship Award goes to a girl as voted on by the tournament staff. This year’s winners are Davis Wallin (Austin) and DeCora Antoine (Round Rock).


A full list of the results can be found on TennisLink.


A list of this year’s winner’s can be found below:


Boys’ 18 Singles: Trey Hilderbrand def. Reed Collier 6-1, 6-0

Boys’ 16 Singles: Andrew Chang def. Zachery Foster 6-4, 6-4

Boys’ 14 Singles: Kyle Totorica def. Charles Wood 6-2, 7-6 (4)

Boys’ 12 Singles: Alexander Razeghi def. Yuki Asako 6-0, 6-0

Girls’ 18 Singles: Fiona Crawley def. Sydney Fitch 7-5, 6-3

Girls’ 16 Singles: Bridget Stammel def. Brianna Wilbur 7-5, 6-0

Girls’ 14 Singles: Erica Jessel def. Ylan Duong 6-3, 6-7 (3), 7-5

Girls’ 12 Singles: Chelsie Son def. Maya Dutta Wo (inj)

Boys’ 18 Doubles: Abbrat/Keene def. Chou/Sriniketh 6-4, 6-1

Boys’ 16 Doubles: Cloud/Jayasundera def. Foster/Mosvold 6-4, 7-6 (5)
Boys’ 14 Doubles: Cairo/Jarmond def. Aaron/Adhvyte 6-4, 6-2

Boys’ 12 Doubles: Chunduru/Chunduru def. Asako/Francis 7-5, 6-1

Girls’ 18 Doubles: Fitch/Kerrigan def. LaMette/Rapolu 6-4, 6-2

Girls’ 16 Doubles: Krueger/Stammel def. Morris/Wilbur 7-6 (4), 6-3

Girls’ 14 Doubles: Clement/Jessel def. Duong/Pyrz 3-6, 7-6 (3), 10-7

Girls’ 12 Doubles: Miroshnichenko/Son def. Dutta/Schwartz 6-7 (2), 6-1, 6-3


Clarence Mabry Sportsmanship Award Winner:


Davis Wallin, Austin, Boys’ 14


Nancy Jeffett Sportsmanship Award Winner:


DeCora Antoine, Round Rock, Girls’ 14


Related Articles