Please update your profile

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

Please complete your account creation
This is the membership endpoints html.
PB Error Codes
getcategories
getproducts
accesstoken
catalogId
catalogVersionId
categoryId
viewCart
deleteCart
addToCart
retrieveMembersDetails
getMemberInfo
unlinkMember
submitNewMemberInfo
updateCustomerDetails
traditionalUpdateCustomerDetails
paymentDetails
createOrganization
addFacility
addVoucher
removeVoucher
validateAddress
setDefaultPayment
getOrganization
orders
organizationSuggestion
facilitySuggestion
deleteCard
signInByUaid
recoveryEmail
customerEmailUpdate
traditionalLogin
signInByProfile
updateSignInProfile
addCard
addEcheck
removeEcheck
setDefaultPaymentInfo
unsubscribe
editFacility
unlinkFacility
editOrganization
duplicateCustomerValidation
getSection
refreshToken
National

What's the Call: Poaching peril

October 21, 2020

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Question: 
During a really tight tiebreaker in my doubles match, we decided on the next point that my partner at the net would poach after my serve. I hit a great serve and she was able to poach and put the ball away. Our opponents claimed that she hit the ball before it crossed the net. Can they call that on us?  

 

Answer: Honesty is the best policy and to keep your nose from growing like Pinnochio. The player who hit the ball should admit reaching over. Your opponents can ask if you reached over, but the player must call it on themselves. If you did, you are responsible for making this call and conceding the point if you hit the ball before it crossed the net. (Code 19) 

 

**

 

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

Advertisement

Related Articles
  • Rules of Tennis
    February 23, 2021
    Have you ever had a question about a call or ruling on the tennis court? USTA provides what you need to know about tennis rules and regulations. Learn the rules. Read More
  • Quiz: DYK the court?
    February 18, 2021
    Test your knowledge of different parts of the tennis court with this quiz from the USTA Officiating department. Read More
  • Removing ball on court
    December 08, 2020
    During my singles match, my opponent hit her first serve into the net. The ball ended up in the middle of the service box but my opponent did not make an attempt to move it. Read More

    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Sign up for our Newsletter