Please update your profile

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

Please complete your account creation
This is the membership endpoints html.
accesstoken
viewCart
deleteCart
addToCart
retrieveMembersDetails
getMemberInfo
unlinkMember
submitNewMemberInfo
traditionalUpdateCustomerDetails
paymentDetails
addVoucher
removeVoucher
validateAddress
getOrganization
orders
deleteCard
addCard
setDefaultPaymentInfo
unsubscribe
getSection
National

Quiz: Can you make the call on clay?

May 25, 2021

Each spring, clay-court tennis takes center stage on the professional calendar, and from tour-level events to the French Open, Chair Umpires have the unique responsibility of checking ball marks, the visual representation of a tennis ball landing on the court, to confirm whether a shot was in or out.

 

While you might never have the opportunity to play on red clay of Roland Garros, you can still use some of the same techniques that Officials use on-court while playing your own matches to help make better calls. 

 

Study the tips highlighted below, and when you've studied up, get ready make the calls yourself: are the five ball marks pictured in the quiz below in or out? 

 

Pleased with your score? You might've found your calling. 

 

For more information on USTA Officiating and how to become an Official, click here.

Advertisement

Related Articles
  • While you might not be playing at the French Open, the same techniques that Officials use can help you check your own clay-court ball marks. Read More
  • Quiz: DYK the court?
    February 18, 2021
    Test your knowledge of different parts of the tennis court with this quiz from the USTA Officiating department. Read More
  • Removing ball on court
    December 08, 2020
    During my singles match, my opponent hit her first serve into the net. The ball ended up in the middle of the service box but my opponent did not make an attempt to move it. Read More

    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Sign up for our Newsletter