Caribbean / U.S. Virgin Islands

Cestero & Latoni crowned

at the Rafa Jordan 

Amigos de Bayamón | Facebook  |  March 18, 2019

After two weeks of tennis action, the United States Tennis Association - Caribbean Section - together with the Puerto Rico Tennis Association, crowned the champions of the 2019 Rafa Jordán Junior Sectional, which was held at the Centro de Tenis Honda in Bayamón, Puerto Rico.


153 juniors participated in the event, divided into the categories of 12, 14, 16 and 18 years, in singles and doubles.


Gabriel Cestero won the Boys 18U category, beating Guillermo Torres 3-6; 6-3;6-3, while in Girls 18U, Daniela Latoni beat Ariana Salgueiro, 7-6 (7); 7-6 (6).


Sebastián Torres, achieved the championship in the category of 16U, by defeating Damián Rivera, 6-1; 6-3 and María Cristina Díaz did the same defeating Valeria González, 6-7 (4); 6-1; 6-1.


Alec Martínez and Alejandro Fernández faced each other in the final of Boys 14, dominating Martínez, 6-2; 6-1. ADVERTISEMENT Andrea Pérez Díaz defeated Claudia Pérez García, 6-2; 6-2, in the Girls finals. In the 12U category, Diego Woollis was crowned champion of the tournament beating Lester Marín Lianza, 7-6 (5); 6-3. Meanwhile, Bela Martínez dominated Valeria Almeda, 6-4; 7-5.


In the doubles, Benjamín Grossman and Jean Marrero won the 18U, defeating, 6-3; 6-3 Luis Benabe Luna and Guillermo Torres. Adele Fernandez Lecaroz and Daniela Latoni dominated the team of Yadalis Rodriguez and Amanda Suarez with a score of 6-2; 6-2. 


Edgardo Piovanetti and Sebastián Torres, finished in the first position after the doubles team of Jorge Quintana and Gilberto Rivera withdrew from the final match with a injury in the mid of the second set, 6-1; 4-1 (Ret. Inj.). Adriana Hiraldo Ortiz and Andrea Marrero won the final 7-5; 7-5 against Valeria González Mesa and Julieta Ruiz Vega. In the category of 14U, Diego Marrero and Alec Martínez, were crowned champions, after defeating the brothers Alejandro and Alberto Fernandez, 1-6; 7-5; 1-0. Andrea Pérez Díaz and Claudia Pérez García, did the same in the final, dominating Ana López and Amanda Vázquez 7-5; 6-3. Finally, in the 12U category, Lester Marín Lianza and Diego Woollis won the championship after beating the team of Ian Arenas and Rafael Muñoz, 6-2; 6-1. Valeria Almeda and Siena Schintler dominated Ana Cestero and Bela Martínez in a match that extended to three sets with a score of 4-6; 6-3; 1-0. 


Related Articles