USTA Eastern's

2019 Annual Awards


December 20, 2019

As is tradition, USTA Eastern will honor some remarkable members of our section for the extraordinary contributions they have made in their communities at our Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday, January 25 during the Eastern Tennis Conference. These individuals and organizations truly demonstrate what makes the Eastern section so unique and innovative. Please join us in thanking them for all their remarkable achievements and hard work in growing and promoting the sport.


Click here for a list of all awards and their official descriptions.

Click here to look back at all of our award winners in each category since 1998.


2019 USTA Eastern Award Winners


Leslie J. Fitzgibbon Tennis Man of the Year Award: Tim Heath


Tennis Woman of the Year Award: Roberta Feldman


Tennis Family of the Year Award: The Arbogast Family                          



Member Organization of the Year Award: Somerset County Parks


Lifetime Achievement Award: Lou Wiggs


George Seewagen Award : Yhonny Murray        


Press Service Award: Sal Interdonato    


Umpire Service Award: Carl Richko         


Louise Cilla Award: Bee Stephens            


JTT Award: Deb Magarrell           


Fran Osei Community Service Award: Hollis Williams      


Collegiate Award: Matt Nielsen


Special Service Award: Derek DiFazio    


Virginia & Chuck Landis High School Coach of the Year Award: Marianne Leung


Clinician of the Year Award: Brian Dahlstrom


Diversity & Inclusion Leadership Award: Joe Rodriguez


10 & Under Award: Khrystsina Tryboi                    


Corporate Service Award: Robbie Wagner’s Tournament Training Center             


Service to People with Disabilties Award: Move Along


USPTA Eastern Professional of the Year Award: Mike Smookler


Long Island Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Hilary Bressler


Metro Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Greg Muhammad


New Jersey Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Ron Thomas


Northern Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Meagan Mann 


Southern Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Southern Region Junior Board  

Maeve Cassidy

Jackie Arbogast

Samantha Killin 

James Cruz   

Lynn Dvorkin 

Aaron Caplan 

Zach Taub     


Western Region Volunteer of the Year Award: Jason Spencer


Related Articles