Midwest / Chicago

2022 Chicago Ace Awards

The Chicago District is recognizing a number of people/organizations that have made contributions to the tennis community in the Chicagoland area. Please continue reading to learn more about this year’s recipients!
The recipients were celebrated on January 22, 2023.
CDTA Volunteer of the Year

This award recognizes an outstanding volunteer contributing to the success of CDTA’s work and/or the growth of tennis in the District.


2022 Recipient: Fely Ong

Tournament Director of the Year

This award recognizes a Chicago District tournament director who has demonstrated commitment to providing competitive play opportunities for players of all types. The recipient of this award will follow USTA principles and policies for running outstanding tournaments.


2022 Recipient: Amanda Hanlon

Champion of the Game

This award recognizes a person, business, or community organization in the Chicago District that has gone above and beyond to help promote tennis within its own organization and the broader community.


2022 Recipient: Gene Huh and Marco Reynoso

Organization of the Year

Growth of tennis in the Chicago District is dependent on partnership with and leadership of providers, clubs and facilities (public and private). This award recognizes an organization that has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to growing participation in tennis through one or more of the following activities: providing and investing in a high-quality space; expanding programs to grow the game and reach new audiences; promoting tennis to new audiences; maintaining a commitment to high-quality management of its programs/facilities. Eligible organizations include, but are not limited to, Community Tennis Organizations (CTAs), National Junior Tennis and Learning (NJTL) chapters, clubs, facilities, etc.


2022 Recipient: Skokie Tennis Association

Wheelchair/Adaptive Performance Award

This award recognizes a volunteer, adaptive/wheelchair player, teaching professional, or coach who has made outstanding contributions and has demonstrated excellence in the sport of adaptive/wheelchair tennis. The recipient has shown evidence of dedication to improving, advancing, and promoting tennis in their community.


2022 Recipient: Melissa Kress

Teaching Professional of the Year

Recognizes the tennis teaching professional who contributes to tennis in his or her community beyond his livelihood.  This person gives freely in promoting involvement in tennis for players of all levels and ages and assists in developing tennis programs and promoting participation. 


2022 Recipient: Mark Bey

Umpire of the Year

Recognizes an individual who has displayed outstanding attributes as a tennis official in the District for at least five years.


2022 Recipient: Marilyn Goldman

League Volunteer of the Year

This award recognizes a USTA League volunteer that has provided leadership and has made a significant contribution to the growth and enhancement of USTA League play within the Chicago District and the Midwest Section. Eligible nominees for this award include both team Captains, committee volunteers, and/or event organizers/help.


2022 Recipient: Marion Thompson

Family of the Year

This award is presented to a family in the Chicago District that has contributed the most toward tennis through the years. The family members are all involved in tennis serving their local area in promoting and perpetuating the development of tennis on all levels.


2022 Recipient: The Kevin Minor Family
Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Welcome to the April edition of Net News! Stay up-to-date with the latest information to help juniors succeed on and off the court. Read More
  • Come out and celebrate National Tennis Month at one of our May events! We're holding free or low-cost tennis activities across the Midwest. View participating locations. Read More
  • Join us for a series of webinars aimed at helping tennis facilities maximize revenue and achieve unparalleled success. Read More