2020 Community Champions: Joyce Dreslin receives Volunteer Exceptional Service Award

December 03, 2020

On Dec. 2, the USTA's Celebrating Community Champions virtual event honored 2020 award-winners in a variety of service-based categories. In the absence of a 2020 USTA Annual Meeting, each honoree received a surprise virtual call from a tennis legend as a thank-you for their contributions to growing the game of tennis.


Joyce Dreslin of Arlington, Texas, is this year's recipient of the USTA Volunteer Exceptional Service Award (more than 10 years of service) for her outstanding contribution in helping grow tennis at the local level. 


Dreslin is a dedicated USTA volunteer with more than 20 years of service, currently serving as the chair of the USTA Texas Adaptive Committee. Joyce has been a US Open volunteer for the past 23 years, Volunteer Ticket Exchange Coordinator for 18 years and USTA Volunteer Lounge Coordinator for 23 years. She has also served hundreds of adaptive athletes through her volunteering for the Special Olympics, "Tennis Stroked for Stroked Folks," and the USTA. 


A former editor at McGraw-Hill, she has used her writing and editing experience to benefit USTA in countless ways and was a valuable contributor to the awards committee. She started a program for stroke victims locally and uses that experience to create and deliver news and compelling stories about adaptive athletes. 


“For over 20 years, Joyce has served the tennis community as a national and sectional local volunteer,” said Craig Morris, USTA Chief Executive, Community Tennis. “She is an incredible advocate and an invaluable expert resource. We are so grateful for all her years of dedication, particularly with her work in adaptive tennis that has impacted many lives through her passion and devotion.”


The Volunteer Exceptional Service Award (VESA) recognizes the most outstanding USTA volunteers each year. One volunteer with more than 10 years is recognized each year, as well as one volunteer with up to 10 years of service. Nominees in each of these categories must currently be serving on a USTA National Committee.


WATCH: Mary Carillo honors Joyce Dreslin (Volunteer Exceptional Service Awards segment begins at 20:23)

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • The Lisa and Douglas Goldman Tennis Center in San Francisco was named the 2023 Featured Facility of the Year, the highest honor bestowed by the USTA on a tennis facility. Read More
  • Emerey Gross
    Junior awards
    August 08, 2023
    Emerey Gross and Dylan Tsoi were named winners of the 2023 Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award. Esha Velaga and Zander Barber were tabbed for the 2023 USTA National Junior Scholar Athlete Award. Read More
  • March 5, 2023; Tempe, AZ, USA;  USTA Barbara Williams Service Award - Pamela Sloan
    2023 AMC awards
    March 06, 2023
    The USTA announced its 2023 national awards recipients honored for their dedication and contributions to growing the sport of tennis both locally and nationwide at the 2023 Annual Meeting and Conference in Phoenix. Read More