2023 USTA Annual Meeting Awards: Nicholas Chen wins Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award

March 04, 2023

Eight advocates for the sport of tennis at the grassroots and local levels were honored with seven awards at the 2023 USTA Annual Meeting and Conference in Phoenix, Ariz. 


WATCH: Nicholas Chen wins Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award

Nicholas Chen of Oakland, Calif. was awarded the Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award at the 2023 USTA Annual Meeting and Conference in recognition of his respect for fair play throughout his junior tennis career.

Chen, 19, is a 2022 graduate of the Head-Royce School and a freshman at Williams College, where he is a member of the men’s tennis team. Chen was a three-year captain of his high school tennis team and one of the highest-ranked prospects in Northern California.


In addition to his on-the-court success, Chen won sportsmanship awards at three national USTA junior tournaments and received numerous sportsmanship honors in USTA Northern California competition. He is described by his fellow players, parents and coaches as someone who plays the sport the right way—with determination, gratitude and sportsmanship. 

“Nicholas is an incredible tennis player, both on and off the court,” Craig Morris, Chief Executive, Community Tennis, USTA, said. “He epitomizes what great sportsmanship is all about and we look forward to seeing what the future holds for him.” 


Each award winner must be a junior player who exemplifies the finest qualities of sportsmanship in tournament play as well as one who maintains the finest traditions of the great sportsmen/women of tennis, past and present. The award is given in honor of 1967 Hall of Famer Bill Talbert, who was highly regarded for his high standards of sportsmanship.

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • The Lisa and Douglas Goldman Tennis Center in San Francisco was named the 2023 Featured Facility of the Year, the highest honor bestowed by the USTA on a tennis facility. Read More
  • Emerey Gross
    Junior awards
    August 08, 2023
    Emerey Gross and Dylan Tsoi were named winners of the 2023 Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award. Esha Velaga and Zander Barber were tabbed for the 2023 USTA National Junior Scholar Athlete Award. Read More
  • March 5, 2023; Tempe, AZ, USA;  USTA Barbara Williams Service Award - Pamela Sloan
    2023 AMC awards
    March 06, 2023
    The USTA announced its 2023 national awards recipients honored for their dedication and contributions to growing the sport of tennis both locally and nationwide at the 2023 Annual Meeting and Conference in Phoenix. Read More