Top juniors named to 2017 USTA

Junior Leadership Team

May 1, 2017

More than 30 top junior tennis players from the USTA’s 17 sections were named to the second USTA Junior Leadership Team in recognition of their leadership, sportsmanship and character, both on and off the court. Each player was nominated by his or her USTA section for excellence in tennis and in the community.

“These players truly are role models who exhibit character well beyond their years, both on the tennis court and in the community,” said Bill Mountford, the USTA’s Director of Junior Tournaments. “We’re happy to have a way to give them some of the recognition they truly deserve with the USTA Junior Leadership Team.”

The 2017 USTA Junior Leadership Team members, along with the section they represent, include:

Caribbean: Erika Barquero and Tomas del Olmo
Eastern: Elysia Bolton and John Speicher
Florida: Ava Krug and Jonah Braswell
Hawaii Pacific: Alyssia Fossorier and Andre Ilagan
Intermountain: Sophie Henderson and Casey Ross
Mid-Atlantic: Natasha Subhash (pictured above) and Ian Sturgill
Middles States: Saige Roshkoff and Matthew Michibata
Midwest: Emily Luetschwager and Lukas Greif
Missouri Valley: Alisa Prinyarux and William Gleason
New England: Grace Joyce and Matthew Lord
Northern: Isabella Lambert and Jackson Allen
Northern California: Sara Choy and Andrew Ton
Southern: Abigail Forbes and Paul McCallie
Southern California: Devon Jack and Bryce Pereira
Southwest: Josie Frazier and Max Geiger
Texas: Chelsea Kung and Kevin Zhu

Each year, more than 120,000 players compete in USTA junior tournaments. ADVERTISEMENT Players compete in levels of competition through earned advancement in the 10s, 12s, 14s, 16s and 18s age divisions. USTA junior tournaments help kids take their game as far as they want – high school, college or pros – or just have fun competing.


Related Articles