USTA announces 2021 Outstanding Facility Award recipients

August 19, 2021

Twenty-five tennis facilities from across the United States and its territories have been named winners of the USTA's Outstanding Facility Award this year.


This annual award recognizes excellence in the construction and/or renovation of tennis facilities in three categories: public courts, private facilities and educational institutions.


“Great tennis facilities like these help us to grow the game at the grassroots level, and we are proud to recognize them for their ongoing impact on the sport of tennis,” said Craig Morris, Chief Executive, Community Tennis.“Each of these facilities have embraced many key tennis initiatives and kept the sport at the forefront of their community each year.”


To be considered for an award, facilities must be under the jurisdiction of a parks and recreation department, an educational institution, a nonprofit corporation or be a private or commercially-owned-and-operated facility that offers both USTA and public programming designed to help grow tennis.


Facilities were judged on the following criteria: overall layout and adaptation to site; excellence of court surface and lights; ease of maintenance; accommodations for players, spectators and press/officials; aesthetics; graphics, including the use of signs and landscaping; amenities such as casual seating for spectators, food services and social areas; and the facilities’ participation in USTA programs.


All award-winners will receive a wall plaque and an all-weather sign which can be mounted at the facility. One of the award winners will earn the prestigious “Featured Facility of the Year” designation and be honored as part of the USTA’s semi-annual meeting later this year.

The Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego was a winner in the large public courts category and hosted the 2021 NTRP 50 & Over Doubles National Championships. Photo: Juan Ocampo/USTA

The 2021 USTA Outstanding Facility Award winners are:


Public Courts: Small Tennis Centers (2 to 10 courts)

Barceloneta Tennis Academy (Barceloneta, Puerto Rico)

Guam National Tennis Center (Dededo, Guam)

Kinetix Tennis (Norristown, Pa.)

Lighthouse Point Tennis Center (Lighthouse Point, Fla.)


Public Courts: Large Tennis Centers (11 or more courts)

Barnes Tennis Center (San Diego)

City of Palm Beach Gardens Tennis and Pickleball Center (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.)

Delray Beach Tennis Center (Delray Beach, Fla.)

HCC Tennis Center (Tampa, Fla.)

International Tennis Hall of Fame / Hall of Fame Tennis Club (Newport, R.I.)

Mesa Tennis Center (Mesa, Ariz.)

Rick Macci Tennis and Fitness Center (Boca Raton, Fla.)

Rock Hill Tennis Center (Rock Hill, S.C.)

Southlake Tennis Center (Southlake, Texas)

SVB Tennis and Wellness Center (Zephyrhills, Fla.)

Tennis Center of Camden (Camden, S.C.)

The Swim and Racquet Center (Boca Raton, Fla.)


Private Facilities

Court 16 (Long Island City, N.Y.)

DuPont Country Club (Wilmington, Del.)

Matrix Racquet Club (Lowell, Ark.)

Raleigh Racquet Club (Raleigh, N.C.)

The Birch Racquet and Lawn Club (Keller, Texas)

Top Seed Tennis Club (Nicholasville, Ky.)


Educational Institutions

Marshalltown Court Complex (Marshalltown, Iowa)

St. James High School Tennis Courts (St. James, Minn.)

The Prout School (Wakefield, R.I.)

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Coco Gauff with the 2023 US Open trophy.
    $3m for court refurbs
    September 09, 2023
    In recognition of Coco Gauff’s US Open women's singles title, the USTA is committing to the refurbishment of tennis courts across the country as part of the newly-created US Open Legacy Initiative. Read More
  • The Lisa and Douglas Goldman Tennis Center in San Francisco was named the 2023 Featured Facility of the Year, the highest honor bestowed by the USTA on a tennis facility. Read More
  • Emerey Gross
    Junior awards
    August 08, 2023
    Emerey Gross and Dylan Tsoi were named winners of the 2023 Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award. Esha Velaga and Zander Barber were tabbed for the 2023 USTA National Junior Scholar Athlete Award. Read More