Ron Cioffi  |  January 24, 2019
Bonnie Vandegrift and Randy Jackson

Bonnie Vandegrift Elected to Lead Southern

Term began 1/1/19

Bonnie Vandegrift Elected to Lead Southern

United States Tennis Association (USTA) Southern announced that Bonnie Vandegrift, of Asheville, N.C., has been electedto serve as USTA Southern Board of Directors President & CEO for the 2019-20 term.

Here is the text from the press released in October 2018.

Vandegrift is presently serving a two-year term as Executive Vice President. In 2015 she was elected to her second two-year term as Vice President. Previously, Vandegrift served one term as Director at Large and 12 years on the USTA Southern League Committee. She spent four years as Chairman and four years as Vice Chair. She has served as Chair of the USTA League Committee for four years and as a committee member for 10 years. Vandegrift is currently the USTA Adult Council Chair and a member of the Advisory Group on Committees and Evaluations. She also is a Past President of USTA North Carolina and the North Carolina Tennis Foundation.



Randy Jackson, of Fort Smith Ark., was nominated to the post of Executive Vice President for the 2019-20 term. He has served as a USTA Southern Board of Directors Vice President since 2013.


The members of the USTA Southern Board of Directors will be voted on by the Southern Section’s nine state associations -- Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee -- for the two-year term beginning on Jan. 1, 2019. The state associations will also vote on the candidates chosen for the USTA Southern Nominating Committee at that time. USTA Southern is the largest of the U.S. Tennis Association’s 17 sections, representing nearly 25 percent of the national membership.


USTA Southern President and CEO Derek White, of Savannah, Ga., was nominated as the USTA Delegate and Chairman of the USTA Southern Nominating Committee for the 2019-20 term.


Here is the full list of volunteers elected for the 2019-20 term:

USTA Southern Board of Directors

Name; Post; Hometown

Bonnie Vandegrift; President & CEO; Asheville, N.C.

Randy Jackson; Executive Vice Presiden; Fort Smith, Ark.

Drew Meyers; Vice President; Lafayette, La.

Ted Reese; Vice President; Cary, N.C.

Brett Schwartz; Vice President, Mandeville, La.

John Herring, Treasurer; Lexington, Ky.

Marcy Hirshberg; Secretary; Johns Creek, Ga.

Beth Hopkins; Director at Large; Advance, N.C.

Bill McGugin; Director at Large; Nashville, Tenn.

Dave Neuhart; Director at Large; Columbus, Ga.

Derek White; USTA Delegate; Savannah, Ga.


USTA Southern Nominating Committee

Name; Post; Hometown

Derek White; Chairman; Savannah, Ga.

Jane Gamble; Member; Paducah, Ky.

Paula Hale; Member; Raleigh, N.C.

Bob Peiffer; Member; Charleston, S.C.

Jenifer Tucker; Member; Fayetteville, Ark.


Related Articles