Northern California

About the USTA NorCal ACES Awards

USTA Northern California takes pride in recognizing individuals contributing to tennis through the ACES (Awards Celebrating Excellence in Service). Beginning in 2023, these awards will be integrated into the annual USTA NorCal Section Connection, celebrating players, program participants, volunteers and organizations for their dedicated service to tennis. Check out the categories below to see who will be honored in our tennis community each year.



The awardees in the following categories are chosen by the Community Tennis Department Staff. If you are interested in working for USTA NorCal, please click here to view opportunities with us and with the tennis community at large.

  • Outstanding Community Tennis Volunteer
    Awarded to an individual who has gone above and beyond in providing service to the tennis community.

  • Outstanding Community Tennis Association
    Awarded to a not-for-profit volunteer organization, park and recreation, community group or school that has shown exceptional and continued leadership in providing programming and community outreach.

  • NJTL Chapter of the Year


Awarded to those driven to create an organization and tennis community that is more inclusive.  We pay tribute to those who have championed the cause for diversity and inclusion both on and off the tennis court. 

Nominations for the following awards are open to the public. Nominate someone in your community or even yourself!  Nominations will be considered by the D&I Committee, and awarded applicants will be notified in writing. If you are interested in joining this or any other USTA NorCal committee, please fill out the form located here. Stay tuned for when the next nominations open up.

  • Mark Manning Icon Award
    For outstanding leadership and contribution at the national, sectional and local levels of the USTA for advocating, representing and contributing to Diversity & Inclusion issues and strategies.

  • Trailblazer Award
    Recognition of an individual, program or organization that goes “Beyond the Baseline” and has been a pioneer/ innovator in forging new paths in the multicultural, LGBT, people with disabilities and/or coaching tennis communities.

  • Leadership Award
    Recognition of an individual, program or organization for a proven significant and outstanding leadership in the coaching, mentoring and/or volunteerism in the multicultural, LGBT and/or people with disabilities tennis communities.

  • Service Award
    Recognition of an individual, program or organization for lifelong service and/or groundbreaking service and for having made a significant impact on the lives of others in an organization/ program, individual and in the multicultural, LGBT and people with disabilities tennis communities.


The awardees in the following categories are chosen by the President of the Board, and/or, a task force dedicated to the specific award.

  • The Betty Cookson Lifetime Achievement Award
  • President's Award
  • Fred A. Earle Jr. Teaching Professional Award 



The Wheelchair Committee chooses the awardees in the following categories. If you are interested in joining this or any other USTA NorCal committee, please fill out the form located here.

  • Outstanding Wheelchair Tennis Volunteer
  • Ned Mansfield Memorial Award
    This award is given to a wheelchair player who displays outstanding character and sportsmanship. The recipient's name will be engraved on the perpetual plaque and will receive a $1,000 scholarship.




Should you have any questions on the ACES Awards, contact Becca Bauer, Sr. Manager, Marketing.

Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Each year, the USTA recognizes facilities throughout the country to encourage increasingly high standards for construction and/or renovation. Read More
  • Established in 1989, this award recognizes an individual who has provided outstanding contributions in promoting and conducting recreational tennis programs. It signifies the vital importance of recreational play. Read More
  • Visit the Caswell Award page
    Caswell Award
    February 13, 2024
    Established in 1962, this award is given to the Texas resident who has made valuable contributions to the growth and development of tennis in Texas. It is awarded to a volunteer within the framework of the USTA Texas, primarily at the section level, and in their local community. Read More