National

Can we change the serving order in doubles?

November 12, 2018


Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.
 

Question: In a league match, my doubles partner and I were struggling to get in a rhythm. After losing the first set, we switched the serving order and got into a groove. After going up 3-0, our opponents noticed the change and said it was illegal to switch the serving order. Were they correct?
 

Answer: If only wiping the slate clean in life were as easy, we would do it every day. Luckily, in tennis, you get to wipe the slate clean at the beginning of every set. That’s why you see so many great comebacks after teams lose a 6-0 in the first set. At the beginning of every set, including the 10-point match tiebreak, you can switch the serving order of doubles partners so you were correct in changing strategy at the start of the next set. The new rotation then continues until the end of that set. (Rule 14).
 

**
 

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

TOURNAMENTS NEAR YOU


PROGRAMS NEAR YOU


Skip Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Articles

  • Visit the Quiz: Correcting errors page
    National
    Quiz: Correcting errors
    March 01, 2022
    We all strive to be perfect on the tennis court, from our groundstrokes to our line calls. However, mistakes can nonetheless happen. Fix them with the help of this quiz. Read More
  • Visit the Quiz: DYK the court? page
    National
    Quiz: DYK the court?
    February 18, 2021
    Test your knowledge of different parts of the tennis court with this quiz from the USTA Officiating department. Read More
  • Visit the "Let" me have a 1st serve page
    National
    "Let" me have a 1st serve
    November 18, 2020
    If a let is called in between my first and second serves, am I allowed two serves to start that point over, or is it still only a second serve? Read More