Please update your profile

Your Membership Expires in ${daysToExpire} days!

Your Membership has expired!

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in ${daysToExpire} days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Please complete your account creation

This is the membership endpoints html.
PB Error Codes
getcategories
getproducts
accesstoken
catalogId
catalogVersionId
categoryId
viewCart
deleteCart
addToCart
retrieveMembersDetails
getMemberInfo
unlinkMember
submitNewMemberInfo
updateCustomerDetails
traditionalUpdateCustomerDetails
paymentDetails
createOrganization
addFacility
addVoucher
removeVoucher
validateAddress
setDefaultPayment
getOrganization
orders
organizationSuggestion
facilitySuggestion
deleteCard
signInByUaid
recoveryEmail
customerEmailUpdate
traditionalLogin
signInByProfile
updateSignInProfile
addCard
addEcheck
removeEcheck
setDefaultPaymentInfo
unsubscribe
editFacility
unlinkFacility
editOrganization
duplicateCustomerValidation
getSection
refreshToken
National

What's the Call: "Let" me have a first serve

November 18, 2020

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Question: 
I was serving and I hit my first serve into the net. I was getting ready for my second serve when a ball came onto our court from another court. “Let” was called and I retrieved the ball and hit the ball back over to our neighboring court. Am I allowed two serves to start that point over, or is it still only a second serve?  

 

Answer: Oh, how a crowded row of courts can lead to fending off erratic balls hit by neighboring players! Luckily, this ball rolled onto your court before a serve and not an epic 20-shot rally. If the ball rolled on the court during your service motion and a let was called, then the server is entitled to a first serve. However, the delay caused by clearing a ball between the first and second serve is not enough to warrant two serves (unless this time is prolonged). (USTA Code 30) 

 

**

 

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

Advertisement

Related Articles

  • If a let is called in between my first and second serves, am I allowed two serves to start that point over, or is it still only a second serve? Read More
  • Poaching peril
    October 21, 2020
    Can our opponents make a call on my doubles partner illegally hitting the ball before it crosses the net on a volley? Read More
  • Fixing a serving error
    September 30, 2020
    What happens if the wrong player is serving in a game, and the error is realized in between first and second serves? Read More