National

Are substitutions allowed in USTA Leagues?

July 15, 2019


Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

 

Question: I was warming up for my USTA League doubles match when all of a sudden I stretched to hit a ball and pulled a muscle. I knew I would not be able to play the match, but didn’t want to let my team down and default the match. What were my team’s options? 

 

Answer: No need to be a statue on court while your partner covers the entire court.  Lineups are set in stone and no substitutions can be made once the captains exchange prior to the match. However, like all good rules, there is an exception. Substitution is allowed if a player injures themselves during the warm-up.  (USTA League Regulation 2.01C(5) )

 

If the substitution is made, the substitute player is entitled to a five minute warm-up. 

 

**

 

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

TOURNAMENTS NEAR YOU


PROGRAMS NEAR YOU


Skip Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Articles

  • Visit the Rules quiz from readers page
    National
    Rules quiz from readers
    May 02, 2022
    There's one thing that's on the mind of The Grip readers: the rules. They asked, we answered, and now, you can test what you've learned. Read More
  • Visit the Make the call on clay page
    National
    Make the call on clay
    May 25, 2021
    While you might not be playing at the French Open, the same techniques that Officials use can help you check your own clay-court ball marks. Read More
  • Visit the Quiz: DYK the court? page
    National
    Quiz: DYK the court?
    February 18, 2021
    Test your knowledge of different parts of the tennis court with this quiz from the USTA Officiating department. Read More