National

What's the Call: Blowin' in the Wind

August 13, 2019


Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

 

Question: On a very windy day, my opponent hit a ball that bounced on my side of the court and then went back over the net without me hitting it.  I thought it was my point because the ball ended up on my opponent’s side. Who wins the point? 

 

 

Answer: Depending on how it is blowing, wind could be your best friend or worst enemy in a match.  The wind is not, however, your invisible doubles partner who can help return a ball on your behalf. Once your opponent’s ball bounced on your side of the court, you must use your racquet to make contact with the ball. Even if the wind blows the ball back into your opponent’s court, you can hit the ball as long as you don’t touch the net.  (ITF Rule 24 & 25)

 

**

 

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

TOURNAMENTS NEAR YOU


PROGRAMS NEAR YOU


Skip Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Articles

  • Visit the Rules quiz from readers page
    National
    Rules quiz from readers
    May 02, 2022
    There's one thing that's on the mind of The Grip readers: the rules. They asked, we answered, and now, you can test what you've learned. Read More
  • Visit the Make the call on clay page
    National
    Make the call on clay
    May 25, 2021
    While you might not be playing at the French Open, the same techniques that Officials use can help you check your own clay-court ball marks. Read More
  • Visit the Quiz: DYK the court? page
    National
    Quiz: DYK the court?
    February 18, 2021
    Test your knowledge of different parts of the tennis court with this quiz from the USTA Officiating department. Read More