What's the call:

Hitting my doubles partner

February 20, 2020

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Question: My doubles partner and I were feeling confident after we won our first set in 20 minutes. We decided it was time to switch things up a bit and do what is called an “I-formation”.


The first time we tried it, it didn’t go too well as I accidentally hit my partner on a first serve. Is this a fault or does the opposing team win that point automatically?


Answer: Your doubles partner may want to trade the I-formation for the “stand off-court while you serve” formation after this one! We’re kidding, but at least you gave it a try. If a ball served touches you or your partner or anything you are both wearing, it is a service fault. ADVERTISEMENT Luckily, this was a first serve, so you would have had another chance to try it again.


To view other examples of service faults, please visit ITF Rule 19.




For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.


Related Articles