Please update your profile

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

Please complete your account creation
This is the membership endpoints html.
PB Error Codes
getcategories
getproducts
accesstoken
catalogId
catalogVersionId
categoryId
viewCart
deleteCart
addToCart
retrieveMembersDetails
getMemberInfo
unlinkMember
submitNewMemberInfo
updateCustomerDetails
traditionalUpdateCustomerDetails
paymentDetails
createOrganization
addFacility
addVoucher
removeVoucher
validateAddress
setDefaultPayment
getOrganization
orders
organizationSuggestion
facilitySuggestion
deleteCard
signInByUaid
recoveryEmail
customerEmailUpdate
traditionalLogin
signInByProfile
updateSignInProfile
addCard
addEcheck
removeEcheck
setDefaultPaymentInfo
unsubscribe
editFacility
unlinkFacility
editOrganization
duplicateCustomerValidation
getSection
refreshToken
National

What's the Call: Will you remove the ball?

December 08, 2020

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

 

Question: During my singles match, my opponent hit her first serve into the net. The ball ended up in the middle of the service box but my opponent did not make an attempt to move it. I requested that she move the ball off the court but my opponent stated that she was fine with the ball laying there. Since the ball was on her side of the net does he have to move it?

 

Answer: Just because the ball is on your opponent’s side does not mean he is the king of that side of the court. The server should respect their opponent’s request to remove the ball from the court. Whenever a ball is not in play, a player must honor an opponent’s request to remove a ball from the court or from an area outside the court that is reasonably close to the lines. (Code 42)  

 

**

 

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

Advertisement

Related Articles
  • Removing ball on court
    December 08, 2020
    During my singles match, my opponent hit her first serve into the net. The ball ended up in the middle of the service box but my opponent did not make an attempt to move it. Read More
  • If a let is called in between my first and second serves, am I allowed two serves to start that point over, or is it still only a second serve? Read More
  • Poaching peril
    October 21, 2020
    Can our opponents make a call on my doubles partner illegally hitting the ball before it crosses the net on a volley? Read More