Please update your profile

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

Please complete your account creation
This is the membership endpoints html.
accesstoken
viewCart
deleteCart
addToCart
retrieveMembersDetails
getMemberInfo
unlinkMember
submitNewMemberInfo
traditionalUpdateCustomerDetails
paymentDetails
addVoucher
removeVoucher
validateAddress
getOrganization
orders
deleteCard
addCard
setDefaultPaymentInfo
unsubscribe
getSection
National

Who serves next

after a tiebreak?

February 20, 2019
<h1>Who serves next</h1>
<h2>after a tiebreak?</h2>
ADVERTISEMENT

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

 

Question: Does the length of a tiebreak game determine who serves at the start of the next set? If someone wins a tiebreak, 7-5, versus a 15-13 tiebreak, does it change?

 

Answer: Luckily, no matter the length of the tiebreak game, you just need to remember who received at the very beginning of it.  If you (or your team) were the receiver for the first point of the tiebreak, you become the server for the first game of the next set. So go forth and play long tiebreaks; just remember who received first. (ITF Rule 5)

 

**

 

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Related Articles

Sign up for our Newsletter

Sign up for our Newsletter