U.S. in Split

U.S. Davis Cup captain Bob Bryan selected Frances Tiafoe, Tommy Paul, Mackenzie McDonald, Austin Krajicek and Rajeev Ram for his team to travel to Split, Croatia, for the Group Stage of the 2023 Davis Cup Finals beginning the week of Sept. 11.


Wins from McDonald and Krajicek/Ram earned the U.S. a 2-1 victory against hosts Croatia, but defeats to the Netherlands and Finland ended hopes of a record-extending 33rd Davis Cup crown for the Red, White and Blue.


The U.S. Davis Cup team will next play in the 2024 qualifying round, with dates, site and opponent to be announced in the future.


Since its establishment in 1900, the Davis Cup has been been won by 15 countries in total. No nation has won more titles than the U.S., which has lifted the trophy 32 times, including at the inaugural event. The U.S. last won the Davis Cup in 2007 when the team of Andy Roddick, James Blake, Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan lifted the trophy with captain Patrick McEnroe.

Robust Special Article Isner John 516x566

In 2012, John Isner defeated world No. 3 Roger Federer in the World Group First Round in Switzerland in Isner’s first live singles match. It was the first time Federer had lost to an American on clay since 1999.

The U.S. has won a record 32 titles since Davis Cup began in 1900.

John McEnroe holds the record for U.S. Davis Cup singles wins (41).

Mike Bryan has more doubles wins (24) than any other American player.

Patrick McEnroe served as the U.S. team captain for a record 10 years.

Since Davis Cup began in 1900, more than 140 players have represented the U.S.

Three sets of brothers (Bryan, McEnroe, Wrenn) played for the U.S.

20070924 Davis Cup Team MM
20000409 John McEnroe Davis Cup MM
20160729 Mike Bryan Davis Cup MM
20070407 Patrick McEnroe Davis Cup MM
20070924 Andy Roddick Davis Cup MM
20160729 Bryan Brothers Davis Cup MM