Eastern / Long Island

2022 Long Island Girls' High School Sportsmanship Award Recipients

December 04, 2022

For the first time, the USTA Long Island Regional Council supplied plaques so that each high school girls' team in both Nassau and Suffolk County could recognize one exemplary player for outstanding sportsmanship during the 2022 season. Additionally, each county cited a singles player and a doubles team for the same honor at the season-ending county tournaments. (Suffolk County named a singles and a doubles team per division.) And finally, two additional players from each county were presented with a plaque at the conclusion of the state championships in Schenectady.


Click through our photo gallery to view a selection of the recipients from girls' tennis teams in both counties. Suffolk honorees were also recognized at the Suffolk County Girls' Varsity Tennis Awards Dinner. You can see photos of the recipients at this link.


A comprehensive list of awardees is posted below. Schools not listed did not supply the name of a sportsmanship winner in advance of our deadline.


To learn more about sportsmanship initiatives in the USTA Eastern section, please click here.


Nassau County Individuals Tournament


Singles: Nyla Gershfeld (Hewlett)

Doubles: Olivia Tiegerman & Manami Wakazono (Syosset)


NY State Section VIII Sportsmanship Award


Madison Lee and Kira Diaz (Great Neck South)


Conference I


Cold Spring Harbor: Carly Bruderman

Friends Academy: Isabella Sha

Great Neck North: Julia Khani

Jericho: Victoria Silva

Manhasset: Eva Misetic

Port Washington: Natalie Joa

Roslyn: Isabella Pozo

Syosset: Sanam Mehta


Conference IIA


Bellmore: Maya Silkowitz

Clarke: Julia Le  

Glen Cove: Tarea Galatro

Great Neck South: Ashley Wu

Herricks: Sasha Stern

North Shore: Kate Salerno

Plainview JFK: Adina Hindi


Conference IIB


Calhoun: Ruby Cilibrasi

Hewlett: Rachel Halpert

Lynbrook: Lauren Berkowitz

Massapequa: Sofia Santiago

Mepham: Sierra Barbosa

Oceanside: Rachel Horowitz

South Side: Hannah Barshak

Wheatley: Madeline Rong


Conference IIIA


Baldwin: Molly Curran

Carey/Sewanhaka: Caroline Gilman 

East Meadow: Olivia Fong

Hicksville: Tanesha Kumar 

Locust Valley: Madison Duslod  

Plainedge: Marissa Battista

Oyster Bay: Julie Duke


Conference IIIB


Bethpage: Juliana Villaluz

Carle Place: Kaitlyn Federlein

Farmingdale: Allison Simpson

Freeport: Naya Hall

Long Beach: Lilin Garfinkel  

Valley Stream Central: Iman Pasha

Valley Stream North: Kimberly G Shrestha


Conference IV


Lawrence: Lisa Virula

Levittown Division: Kareena Raj

Malverne/East Rockaway: Jamila Smith

West Hempstead: Harpreet Kaur

Suffolk County Individuals Tournament


Division 1: Isabella Spilotros, Smithtown West (Singles); Lia Maglione & Jillian Sheerin, Commack (Doubles)


Division 2: Alex Hillman, Islip (Singles); Sasha Gagnon and Riley Lapine, Sayville (Doubles)


Division 3: No recipients listed


Division 4: Melina Pinonzek, Westhampton Beach (Singles); Emma Matos and Kaleigh Maxwell, Center Moriches (Doubles)


NY State Section XI Sportsmanship Award


Julie Stabile and Matilda Buchen (Westhampton Beach)


Division 1


Half Hollow Hills East: Brooke Lieberman

Harborfields: Zoe Sbarra-Vaughan

Hauppauge: Riti Takhar

Huntington: Anna Bell Young

Kings Park: Ashleigh Fredriksen

Northport: Jennifer Martin

Smithtown East: Antonia Miele


Division 2


Connetquot: Juliette Christophel

Copiague: Angeni Hernandez

Deer Park: Emily Franciscovich

East Islip: Rachel Furey

Islip: Erica Delapi

North Babylon: Elona Jackson

Sayville: Kate Leigh-Manuell

West Islip: Gabrielle Cetero


Division 3


Bayport-Blue Point: Brianna Von Glahn

Longwood: Kaitlyn Johnson

Middle Country: Jennifer Day

Miller Place: Mary Duffy

Mount Sinai: Gita Ramakrishnan

Rocky Point: Isabella Kelly

Sachem: Riley Saposnick

Ward Melville: Ava Tam


Division 4


Center Moriches: Sophia Pisciotta

Eastport South Manor: Sophia Raguso

Eastport South Manor: Courtney Natoli

Hampton Bays: Natalie Moranchel

Mattituck: Marysia Uklanska

Port Jefferson: Sadie Salzman

Riverhead: Grace Kneidl

Shoreham-Wading River: Hannah Rafuse

Southold/Greenport: Olivia Misiukiewicz

Westhampton Beach: Julia Greiner

William Floyd: Hailey O'Connor



Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • The USTA Long Island Regional Council supplied plaques so that each high school team could recognize one player for outstanding sportsmanship during the 2023 season. Read More
  • Visit the 2022 LI Sportsmanship page
    2022 LI Sportsmanship
    December 04, 2022
    For the first time, the USTA Long Island Regional Council supplied plaques so that each high school team could recognize players for outstanding sportsmanship during the 2022 season. Read More
  • Visit the Long Island Awards page
    Long Island Awards
    October 13, 2022
    USTA Eastern’s Long Island Region will celebrate the achievements, both on and off the court, of our members and member organizations on February 12, 2020 at the New York Open. Read More