USTA National Campus to host Jr. Davis Cup, Jr. Fed Cup

Arthur Kapetanakis | October 04, 2018

For the first time since 1994, the United States will host  the Junior Davis Cup and Junior Fed Cup by BNP Paribas Finals. The USTA National Campus has been selected as the host site for the premier 16-and-under world team competitions for the next three years, beginning in 2019.


The 1994 event was held in Tucson, Ariz., with the Netherlands winning the boys' competition and South Africa taking the girls' trophy.


In each of the past two years, the event was held in Budapest, Hungary, where the U.S. Junior Fed Cup team secured its second consecutive title last week. The last American Junior Davis Cup victory came in 2014 in San Luis Potosi, Mexico, when a team featuring current ATP Top-100 player Michael Mmoh swept South Korea in the championship round.


The competition includes 16 nations on both the boys’ and girls’ sides competing first in round-robin groups, then in a knockout bracket to determine the winner.


The U.S. has won five Junior Fed Cup titles (2008, 2012, 2014, 2017-18) and three Junior Davis Cup titles (1999, 2008, 2014). Former U.S. junior international team members include Jim Courier, Andy Roddick, James Blake, Lindsay Davenport and Sloane Stephens. Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic also have also represented their respective countries in the junior international team competition.


This will be the third major international event held in Lake Nona, joining the ITF Super-Seniors World Championships held last year and the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters scheduled for November. 



Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Visit the U.S. defends junior BJKC page
    U.S. defends junior BJKC
    November 12, 2023
    The U.S. clinched its eighth junior Billie Jean King Cup title in Cordoba, Spain after defeating the Czech Republic in the title match for a second consecutive year. Read More
  • Visit the JR Davis, BJK Cup teams page
    JR Davis, BJK Cup teams
    October 25, 2023
    Six top juniors have been nominated to represent the U.S. at the Junior Davis Cup and Junior Billie Jean King Cup by Gainbridge Finals in Cordoba, Spain. Read More
  • Visit the U.S. juniors into Finals page
    U.S. juniors into Finals
    April 24, 2023
    All four American teams in the 16-and-under and 14-and-under competitions successfully came through North/Central American and Caribbean qualifying at the USTA National Campus. Read More