Please update your profile

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

Please complete your account creation
This is the membership endpoints html.
accesstoken
viewCart
deleteCart
addToCart
retrieveMembersDetails
getMemberInfo
unlinkMember
submitNewMemberInfo
traditionalUpdateCustomerDetails
paymentDetails
addVoucher
removeVoucher
validateAddress
getOrganization
orders
deleteCard
addCard
setDefaultPaymentInfo
unsubscribe
getSection
National

DEFERRING AT THE COIN TOSS

WHAT IS THE RULE?

April 9, 2019
<h2>DEFERRING AT THE COIN TOSS</h2>
<h1>WHAT IS THE RULE?</h1>
ADVERTISEMENT

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

 

Question:  Before my last match, I won the spin and chose to defer. My opponent announced she would serve from the side she was standing on. I told her that she could choose either the side she wants to start from or whether she was serving or receiving, not both. Who is correct?

 

Answer: In the heat of the moment, many players would miss their opponent made all the decisions for them. Good catch! If you defer to your opponent, they get to make ONE decision not all of them. They can choose to either serve/receive or pick a side. They don’t get to choose both. (ITF Rule 9)
 

**

 

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Related Articles

Sign up for our Newsletter

Sign up for our Newsletter