Double Bounce Dilemma

July 18, 2018

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


In the first game, our opponents hit a wide shot that my partner, who is a wheelchair player, hit a good return after the second bounce. Our opponents started to celebrate thinking it was a winner and did not make an attempt to return the ball.  They argued that they won the point because the ball bounced twice. What is the bounce rule when able-bodied players play doubles with wheelchair players? 


Your opponents just got a lesson about celebrating a victory before the point was over. When playing together, able-bodied players must remember that ball is not out of play until it bounces a third time if it goes to the wheelchair player. BUT... don’t get any ideas about able-bodied players getting extra bounces. The wheelchair tennis player is the only one allowed two bounces if needed and the able-bodied players must adapt. 




For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.



Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Visit the Make the call on clay page
    Make the call on clay
    May 25, 2021
    While you might not be playing at the French Open, the same techniques that Officials use can help you check your own clay-court ball marks. Read More
  • Visit the Quiz: DYK the court? page
    Quiz: DYK the court?
    February 18, 2021
    Test your knowledge of different parts of the tennis court with this quiz from the USTA Officiating department. Read More
  • Visit the Removing ball on court page
    Removing ball on court
    December 08, 2020
    During my singles match, my opponent hit her first serve into the net. The ball ended up in the middle of the service box but my opponent did not make an attempt to move it. Read More