Magic Touch:

Legal or not?

September 17, 2018

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

During a rally, I was pulled off-court and in a moment of desperation, I threw my racquet at a return. Amazingly, the ball hit the racquet and went back over the net for a winner. My opponent said that it was an illegal hit and that I lost the point. Is he correct?


We wish we could give you the point for style. It certainly sounds like a contender for one of the best shots of the year. Unfortunately for you, your opponent is correct. If you are not holding the racquet when the ball hits it, you lose the point. 


This rule can be found in the Friend at Court under the ITF Rules of Tennis #24, Player Loses Point.





For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.


Related Articles