Mixed doubles serving

February 14, 2017

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Question: During a no-ad mixed doubles match, it was my partner's (who is female) turn to serve and we got to deuce, deciding point, our opponent indicated that the male on opposite team would receive. I said that the receiver had to be the female in mixed, as it is supposed to be gender to gender on a deciding point. The other team disagreed. Who is correct?


ANSWER: You are. Appendix V of the rules of tennis provide that, in mixed doubles, the player of the same gender as the server shall receive the deciding point when playing no-ad scoring.



For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.


Related Articles