What's the call?
Playing an 'out' ball
December 1, 2016
Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.
Question: During my doubles match, I served a ball that clearly was long. My partner and I made no attempt to play our opponent’s return because I was anticipating a second serve. Our opponent claimed he won the point because he made a good return. We said that the serve was out, and it should be a second serve. Who was right?
Answer: The opponent was right in claiming he won the point. According to Code 5, players makes calls on their own side of the net, so even if you thought the ball was long, you still need to continue play as your opponent may have been giving you the benefit of the doubt.
For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.