Racquet clash

with doubles partner

June 13, 2019

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Question: During my doubles match, both my partner and I went for a ball. Our racquets clashed, but I was able to make contact with it and hit a winner. Our opponents claimed that they won the point because our racquets hit each other. Were they correct?  


Answer: Looks like you are and your partner needs to work on your communication. You are lucky you hit racquets and not each other! Although not ideal, as long as it is clear that only one racquet hit the ball, your return is legal. (ITF Rule 24)




For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.



Related Articles