What's the call:

The ball hit my doubles partner

October 18, 2019

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Question: During our doubles match, a ball grazed my partner’s head as he ducked out of the way for a shot he thought was going out. Luckily, it didn’t change the trajectory of the ball and I was in the perfect position to hit a winner. Our opponents disagreed and claimed they won the point.  Who is right?  


Answer: Ever wonder why tennis announcers never say, “And with an assist...”? That’s because unlike soccer or basketball, there’s no assist in tennis. Even in doubles, returning the ball to the other side of the net has to be done by one player. If both players touch the ball when returning it, they lose the point  (ITF Rule 24). ADVERTISEMENT Tell your partner, he needs to duck a little quicker next time.




For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.


Related Articles