WHAT'S THE CALL?
HITTING A PLAYER'S SHOE
February 8, 2017
Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.
Question: During my singles match, I hit a ball to my opponent and it hit his shoe on the fly. At the time he was standing behind the baseline. My opponent said the ball was out and it didn’t matter that it hit his shoe because he was behind the baseline. I argued that if the ball hits a player or any part of his body/apparel with the exception of the racquet, the point is the hitter’s. Who wins the point?
ANSWER: You win the point. Rule 24i explains that a player loses the point if a ball in play touches the player or anything the player is wearing or carrying (excluding the racquet). Your opponent lost the point as soon as the ball hit his shoe. ADVERTISEMENT Code 19 requires your opponent to concede the point when this happens.
For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.