Please update your profile

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

Please complete your account creation
This is the membership endpoints html.
accesstoken
viewCart
deleteCart
addToCart
retrieveMembersDetails
getMemberInfo
unlinkMember
submitNewMemberInfo
traditionalUpdateCustomerDetails
paymentDetails
addVoucher
removeVoucher
validateAddress
getOrganization
orders
deleteCard
addCard
setDefaultPaymentInfo
unsubscribe
getSection
National

Racquet crosses the net

Do I lose the point?

May 10, 2019
<h2>Racquet crosses the net</h2>
<h1>Do I lose the point?</h1>
ADVERTISEMENT

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

 

Question: During a league doubles match, our opponents hit a great shot and all my partner could do was pop it up. Our opponent saw the high lob and got really close to the net to put the ball away with an overhead. Since she was so close to the net, her follow through ended up finishing on our side of the court. The question I have is, “Do you lose the point if your racket crosses over the net?”

 

Answer: This would not be a “nothing but net” situation. Actually, it is quite the opposite. Your racquet can cross the net as long as it never touches it. This does not mean you can just start reaching across the net to hit balls before they come to your side. ADVERTISEMENT Before you can hit a return, the ball must first cross over the net to your side of the court. (ITF Rule 24)

 

**

 

For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.

ADVERTISEMENT

Related Articles

Sign up for our Newsletter

Sign up for our Newsletter