Please update your profile

Your Safe Play Approval Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Safe Play Approval has expired!

Your Admin status expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Organization Admin is expired!

Your Membership Expires in $(daysToExpire) days!

Your Membership has expired!

Please complete your account creation
This is the membership endpoints html.

What's the Racquet?

Racquet Etiquette

March 13, 2018

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Question: During a match, my opponent broke his strings returning a first serve fault. Luckily, he had a backup racquet which he ran over to get.  When he returned, we weren’t sure if I was now serving a first or second serve. What is the proper procedure? 


Answer: Your opponent was lucky he had a back-up racquet. He must have been a Boy Scout growing up. Whenever there is a delay between a first and second serve, caused by the receiver, the server is allowed a first serve. This delay could be anything from washing out a contact lense to clearing a ball from court or like in this scenario, exchanging a broken racquet. 



This rule can be found in the Friend at Court under the ITF Rules of Tennis #23 The Let.




For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.


Related Articles

Sign up for our Newsletter

Sign up for our Newsletter