What's the Score?

May 14, 2018

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


I was playing in my local league singles match, and after a really long rally, we forgot the score. My opponent, who was serving, said it was 40-15, but I thought the score was 30-30.  What is the proper procedure figuring out what the score should be?


Don't beat yourself up. This happens more often than you would think.  I bet a few pros would forget the score after a long rally if they didn't have a Chair Umpire announcing it. There are three ways to come to an agreement on the score.  The first way is to count up all the points and games that you both agree on.  You would then replay those that you don't agree on. If that doesn't work, you can replay from a score that you mutually agree on. And if you still can't agree, toss a coin or spin a racquet to settle the dispute (but hopefully, it doesn't come to that). 


This rule is #32 of The Code (The Players' Guide to Fair Play and The Unwritten Rules of Tennis)  in the Friend at Court. 




For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.



Skip Advertisement


Related Articles

  • Visit the Removing ball on court page
    Removing ball on court
    December 08, 2020
    During my singles match, my opponent hit her first serve into the net. The ball ended up in the middle of the service box but my opponent did not make an attempt to move it. Read More
  • Visit the "Let" me have a 1st serve page
    "Let" me have a 1st serve
    November 18, 2020
    If a let is called in between my first and second serves, am I allowed two serves to start that point over, or is it still only a second serve? Read More
  • Visit the Racquet crossing the net page
    Racquet crossing the net
    May 10, 2019
    If my racquet crosses over the net during a follow-through, do I automatically lose the point or is that allowed? Read More