Who calls double hits?

January 11, 2017

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.

Question: My opponent hit the ball hard at me, and I returned it, but he claimed that I hit the ball twice, even though it felt more like a carry to me, which has been legal for a long time now. My partner said that I hit it in one continuous motion, which seems to be the key difference between a legal and illegal hit. What is the correct ruling on this?


Answer: You are correct. If it was one continuous motion, without a second intentional swing or push, then it is a legal shot even if it hit your racquet twice in the one swing. It is also your call to make and not your opponent's.



For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.


Related Articles