Light Interference

When a shot hits a court fixture

January 7, 2019

Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.


Question: I hit a really high lob that hit the ceiling light and came down to bounce on my opponent's side of the court. My opponent stopped playing and said he won the point, but I think since it landed in his court, it should’ve been played. Who is correct?


Answer: Unfortunately, this isn’t a nothing but net circa 1990s Michael Jordan commercial where everything is in-play. When playing indoor tennis, permanent fixtures such as lights and ceiling fans are not fair game. Once a ball hits one, the ball is ‘out’ and the person who hit the ball loses the point. Save those trick shots off the water cooler to the ceiling fan for the warm-up. ADVERTISEMENT (ITF Rule 2)




For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.


Related Articles